Sunship Balloon - Everywhen


Sunship Balloon – the side project from Daniel Haggis and Tord Øverland Knudsen of The Wombats have released their highly anticipated debut album Everywhen.

Everywhen is a remarkable slice of leftfield psychadelic alt-pop, and was mixed by John Congleton (Angel Olsen, St. Vincent, Bombay Bicycle Club), sitting without a doubt as the duo’s most forward thinking work to date. The stunning record features the mammoth singles ‘A4 Life’, ‘1224 Fantasia’, ‘1000 Conversations’ and new single ‘Hashtag World’.

Everywhen comes in the wake of Sunship Balloon’s debut EP ‘Intergalactic Teacup Travel Centre‘, which was released in late 2019 to critical acclaim, and sees the duo delve into new sonic territories, seamlessly blurring the lines between psychedelia, alt-pop, lo-fi hip hop, garage rock, dance and electronica. The trilogy of videos released across the pair’s most recent singles, featuring the incredible star making performance from newcomer ‘Mushroom Bob’, also effortlessly showcases the dystopian themes of the album and the definitive, forward thinking Sunship Balloon aesthetic.

Speaking about Everywhen, Daniel Haggis said: “‘The album title ‘Everywhen‘ is an Aboriginal concept I read about during the making of the album relating to our ancestors and nature and how it encompasses our past, present and future all at once, in the same moment. This concept, although hardly understanding it, somehow felt perfect and really summed up the album. We imagined the album as a journey through the space-like expanse of the mind, floating along in a little space ship looking out at the planets orbiting the Basal Ganglia star. Almost as if we were soundtracking our own sci-fi film.”

Sunship Balloon’s debut album Everywhen is out 9/18 via AWAL.


Download Now »
Tame Impala, Post Animal, GUM, Babe Rainbow, MGMT, Unknown Mortal Orchestra
Explicit Tracks
#2, 6