LIPSTEREO - Modern Mythology [EP]

Pop Preservation Society

LIPSTEREO has released its debut EP, ‘MODERN MYTHOLOGY’ on the newly established independent record label, Pop Preservation Society.

It’s been nearly thirty years since Rock faded from the music industry roster. A young, four-piece indie band from Melbourne, Australia is bringing it back! Formed in 2019 this group of Music tragics are bonded together over a mutual obsession with The Strokes, Weezer, and Arctic Monkeys‘ back catalogs. By channeling time spent watching worn-out Ramones and Blondie VHS tapes as children, LIPSTEREO creates performances reminiscent of late nights at CBGB.

2022 has seen the band sell out every headline performance. Their high-energy live shows fuse loud guitars with a post-punk songwriting sensibility to create music worthy of Phil Spector’s Spotify playlist in a parallel universe.

LIPSTEREO is; Sam Stranges – vocals and rhythm guitar, Andrew Stainsby – lead guitar, Tage Hosking-Gregory – bass guitar, and Jesse Porter – drums.

Legendary record producer, Mark Opitz (ACDC, INXS, Cold Chisel) came out of a semi-retirement to work on the four-track debut EP titled ‘Modern Mythology.’ It was recorded at Thirty Mill Studios (Melbourne) and engineered by Colin Wynne (INXS, Jeff Lang, The Casanovas).

Their first radio song ‘STOP’, captures the garage rock essence of the band, with the music video played four weeks in a row on Australia’s legendary National ABC TV music show, ‘Rage.