The Valery Trails - Disappear [EP]


When a year-long trip around the world with his family was interrupted by the COVID-19 pandemic, Andrew Bower (vocals/guitar) ended up back in his hometown of Brisbane, Australia. After several years of being separated by an ocean from bandmates Sean Bower (bass) and Dan McNaulty (drums) while Andrew was living in Houston, Texas, the band now all live in the same city, enabling a flurry of recording activity resulting in a busy 2022 release schedule.

The second 2022 release is the Disappear EP (release date May 20). The title track is a jangly slice of powerpop chronicling the early stages of an ill-fated relationship, featuring layered guitar hooks and lush vocals. Other tracks on the EP include The Days of in Between (a short story laden with guitar hooks), Brand New Start (an alt-country / new wave hybrid breakup song) and Goodbye (which starts as a spiky post-punk influenced tune then blossoms into a hypnotic, sprawling psych-tinged workout).

“Their sound, well, it’s going to take you back to classic 90s radio sounds, filled with a solid melody and distorted guitars … Think of bands like REM or maybe a happier Dinosaur Jr and you’ll know right where this group stands.” – Austin Town Hall

“their reference points are late ’80s college rock, which they channel into songs that are rugged and melodic — think the best moments of Sugar and Buffalo Tom and you’re getting close.” – J. Edward Keyes, Wondering Sound


Download Now »
The Wedding Present, Yo La Tengo, Bob Mould, The National, Guided By Voices, Superchunk