Jeromes Dream - The Gray In Between


Recent Press: Knotfest, Stereogum, BrooklynVegan, Idioteq, Revolver, Dscvrd

San Francisco hardcore band Jeromes Dream — Erik Ratensperger (drums), Jeff Smith (bass, vocals), and Sean Leary (guitar) — have announced their new album and third full-length The Gray In Between. The album arrives May 5 via Iodine Recordings.

Jeromes Dream share history with bands like Orchid, Saetia, Reversal of Man, and pageninetynine. The band existed between 1997 and 2001, then reformed in 2018. The Gray In Between introduces Leary (Loma Prieta) on guitar and was recorded, mixed, and mastered by Jack Shirley (Deafheaven, Quicksand, Joyce Manor).

“The entirety of The Gray In Between is a portrait of an absolutely unrelenting fear and anxiety that never seems to let up,” Smith offers. “It is a journey inward. It is a reflection on ailment. It is therapeutic. It is a reminder to get out of bed every day even when it feels like there is no point. It is a reminder of the power that art and music hold. It is an inspiration. It is the embodiment of every emotion that runs through me every day.”

Smith continues, “In the darkest of times, we find joy — often with those who mean the most to us. While making The Gray in Between, I knew I could count on being with Erik and Sean every week. In the chaos of everyday life, the writing of this record was the north star that we could look to no matter how bad things seemed to get. We carved out a space that felt safe and the darkness of the world seemed to melt away as we holed up and wrote. I hope you’ll find peace and inspiration as you experience this record, in your own way, with us.”