Welcome To The Night Sky
ADDS 11/18/08

"Miasmal Smoke + The Yellow Bellied Freaks" starts its marching build with echoing drums and an organ bleeding out a nervous buzz. Epic and lonely, it's the score for the flickering light of a glowing soul that closes the door to Wintersleep's third album, Welcome to the Night Sky. Like its final song, the album built up gradually over the past two years. From a mass of ghostly melodies, half-finished lyrics and nervesplicing drum beats, it has shaped into the band's finest collection to date. Following the release of their 2005 self-titled sophomore album, Wintersleep spent months on the road touring through Canada, America and Europe. Upon return to their native Halifax, the band enlisted the ear of veteran producer Tony Doogan (Mogwai, Belle & Sebastian and Super Furry Animals).

RIYL: The Dears, The National, Sun Kil Moon
TRY: #2, 4, 8
DIRTY: #10 (clean edit on downloads page soon)

Full Album Available Here: