Trainwreck Riders


Trainwreck Riders
The Perch
Alive Records

Trainwreck Riders Release The Perch on Alive Records, May 12

"Safety Of A Back" Released for Free Download

San Francisco's Trainwreck Riders are all aboard to release their new album, The Perch on Alive Records on May 12. Preview their new record with the MP3 for "Safety Of A Back", which they have just released for free download.

Trainwreck Riders started out playing music with their San Francisco friends Two Gallants on the corner of 16th and Mission back in 2003, in art galleries and public parking lots, eventually releasing a DIY album in 2005, and a follow up for Alive Records, Lonely Road Revival, in 2007. Their new album, The Perch, is filled with the band's unique brand of romantic urban country, bohemian folk and dirty punk blues, and displays Pete Frauenfelder's and Andrew Kerwin's amazing songwriting evolution, both lyrically and musically. On this new release, Trainwreck Riders have taken a much more modern and alternative approach to their songwriting, while still using very traditional elements in the guitar, fiddle, and lap steel parts that they play. The Perch was recorded with Patrick Brown (The Black Lips, Gomez), and mixed with Jon Kaplan (Ash, Granddaddy).

Trainwreck Riders consists of singer/guitarist Pete Frauenfelder and brothers Steve and Andrew Kerwin, on drums and guitar/vocals respectively. Meat Puppets, Dinosaur Jr., Buffalo Springfield and Creedence Clearwater Revival are among the Riders admitted musical references, but it is said that the boys main influence is Rob Kerwin's, Steve and Andrew's dad, music collection of old timey country and fiddle playing.

The band has toured the US with Langhorne Slim, Two Gallants and The Black Diamond Heavies, and will be back on the road in 2009.

"Trainwreck Riders are a rocking in their chair, guitar-pickin' on the porch band from San Francisco. This is Americana for a new America, and as train wrecks go, this one is a beauty." - Jo-Ann Greene for and
More from Alive Records